Windows 8 RTM

windows-8-lock-screenrtm-1344973244

Earlier this week I did the full conversion of my home PC to Windows 8 RTM.  I was testing out Windows 8 Preview on a Samsung Series 7 Slate thanks to our Microsoft Account Rep and wasn’t quite sold on it.  Now granted the Samsung and Windows 8 Preview both were not a perfect match and the software was still in pre-release but the deciding factor was there is still a traditional Desktop in Windows 8.  So knee deep I go into the new OS of Windows 8.

So far I’m quite impressed with the speed of boot up (still using SATA drives in my home PC) and the overall snappy-ness of the new OS.  Now it could be that I was on Windows 7 without a reload in over 2 years and the slowness there is clouding my judgment however for now it’s speedy.  The overall experience takes getting used to since there are no gestures or touch features on my machine at least for the time being. 

I’m not really going to get into the details and write one of those techy reviews, I’ll leave that for @rickrbyrne over at http://rickrbyrne.wordpress.com/.  That’s right up his alley.  He did do a nice write up of some of the new Server 2012 features which you can read here – http://rickrbyrne.wordpress.com/2012/08/19/windows-server-2012-server-manager/ I’m going to chat for a minute on the strategic value of upgrading to Windows 8 and if that’s appropriate at this time.

To put things into perspective Windows 8 is just being released here in late October and for the most part the OS is geared more towards the mobile platform first and the desktop second.  Does the OS work on the traditional desktop, yeah of course, however I will say it’s not enterprise ready in my opinion.  The whole interface (not being called “Metro” now) is not really “enterprise-y”, it leaves way to much room for distraction.  The interface is just an enabler for time wasters at work who continually surf Facebook, Twitter, etc…

Microsoft stated a week or two ago that there will be no configuration to change what loads first, the new interface or the desktop.  For me that is a huge disservice to what Microsoft has always been good at, configuration via Group Policies.  I have a strong feeling the enterprise customers will make enough of a stink this will be made available. You heard it here first!

The last thing I’ll touch on and what I think is the most important, is the amount of support for Windows 8 since it’s just released as RTM. 3rd party vendors are going to have little to no support at the get go and as an enterprise customer that does not sit well with me.  There cannot possibly be enough KB articles to help the masses that would use it in the enterprise.  There are some things worth being on the bleeding edge however OS’s are not one of them.  We may evaluate it however it will be at least 12+ months if and when we even look at deploying it in production.  For example, Autodesk AutoCAD is not even supported yet and is still under investigation.

While that may seem harsh, I’m only going from experience *cough* Windows Vista.  While this release doesn’t seem to be anything like Vista, it is a huge shift in the way the OS works and that’s not something at this time I need to focus my time and energy on.

I’d love to hear other thoughts thoughts and see if anyone else is considering this for an enterprise release.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

