From the POV of a Director

I’ve started this blog which will focus primarily on the strategic side of IT.  I’m a Director of Information Technology for an Engineering and Geomatics company in Alberta, Canada.  I’ve moved up the ranks from Help Desk to Systems Administrator to Management and now in my current position as Director.

The change to a more strategic position is definitely a 180 from what I’ve been used to.  Moving out of the technical ‘Hands On’ side of things is tough as I like to get my hands dirty  once in awhile.  I will always keep a hand in the technology as I feel I need to understand it in order to manage my team properly.  How can I be expected to manage a team of professionals if I have no idea how the technology works, at least from a high level?

I plan to do posts on the strategy of IT and my experiences with that, how to deal with the business and executive teams, live blogs from events, new technology that I’m interested in and I’m sure a few blogs of randomness.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

